Dr. Roman Gutzwiller

Dr. iur. HSG, MBA (HEC Paris), Attorney-at-law

Roman Gutzwiller advises companies, entrepreneurs, members of the board of directors and executive management, shareholders and investors in the areas of corporate governance, public corporate governance, corporate law and contract law. He also accepts board memberships in Swiss companies, providing expert knowledge of corporate governance.

Roman Gutzwiller studied at the University of St.Gallen (B.A. HSG in Law, 2007; M.A. HSG in Law, 2009) and at HEC Paris (MBA with specialisation in Advanced Management, 2020) and completed his doctorate at the University of St.Gallen on the topic of “The state’s options of influencing the strategy of a state-owned or state-governed corporation” (Dr. iur. HSG, summa cum laude, 2017), for which he was awarded the Walther Hug Award St.Gallen 2017 for the best legal Ph.D. thesis.

As a former entrepreneur, Roman Gutzwiller has several years of entrepreneurial experience as well as management knowledge, particularly in the areas of strategic management, leadership, business modelling and digital transformation.

In addition to his work at Binder Rechtsanwälte, Roman Gutzwiller is a post-doctoral researcher and lecturer at the University of St.Gallen. His research focuses on topics in the areas of shareholder governance, board governance, public corporate governance, corporate law and strategic management. Roman Gutzwiller teaches courses on the assessment, bachelor’s and master’s level, as well as in executive education. He regularly publishes in his fields of expertise.

Since 2019, Roman Gutzwiller has been a member of the Advisory Board of the Corporate Governance Competence Centre at the Research Institute for International Management at the University of St.Gallen. In 2015, he was appointed as a member of the WEF Global Shapers Community, a network of young mission-driven leaders initiated by the World Economic Forum; from 2016 to 2018, he served as a member of the board of directors of the Zurich Hub, and from 2017 to 2018 as its president.

In his private life, Roman Gutzwiller is a big football fan and a committed advocate of the paperless office.

Curriculum

since 2022Lawyer at Binder Rechtsanwälte (registered with the Bar in the Canton of Aargau)
since 2020Lecturer at the University of St.Gallen
2020Master of Business Administration with specialisation in Advanced Management (HEC Paris); special recognition for placement on the Dean’s List; recipient of the HEC Paris Excellence Scholarship (2018); awarded the HEC Paris MBA Academic Award (Class of 2020); awarded the HEC Paris MBA Leadership Award (Class of 2020)
since 2017Independent academic research and work on a habilitation project at the University of St.Gallen
since 2017Founder and owner of Crescenion GmbH
2017Dr. iur. HSG (University of St.Gallen); awarded the Walther Hug Award St.Gallen 2017 for the best legal Ph.D. thesis
2012–2014Attorney-at-law at Binder Rechtsanwälte (registered with the Bar in the Canton of Aargau)
2011Admitted to the Bar in the Canton of Zurich and admitted to all courts in Switzerland
2009–2010Legal intern with a large business law firm in Zurich
2009M.A. HSG in Law (University of St.Gallen); awarded the Paul Alther Award 2009 for the best master’s thesis in law or political science
2007B.A. HSG in Law (University of St.Gallen)
2005–2011Founder and Managing Partner of ingenion GmbH

Further activities

Lecturer at the University of St.Gallen (since 2020); teaching in the area of company law, corporate governance, mergers and acquisitions and business law at assessment, bachelor’s and master’s level as well as in executive education
Lecturer in company law and corporate governance at the Executive School of Management, Technology and Law of the University of St.Gallen (since 2021)
Member of the Advisory Board of the Corporate Governance Competence Centre at the Research Institute for International Management of the University of St.Gallen (since 2019)
Non-executive member of the Board of Directors of GWPartner AG (since 2006)
Member (since 2015), former president (2017–2018) and former board member (2016–2018) of the Zurich Hub of the Global Shapers Community, a community of the World Economic Forum
Co-founder and member of the Board of Directors of the Association for the Support of SMEs and Startups (since 2020)

Dr. Roman Gutzwiller

Dr. iur. HSG, MBA (HEC Paris), Rechtsanwalt

Roman Gutzwiller berät Unternehmen, Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, Verwaltungsrats- und Geschäftsleitungsmitglieder, Aktionärinnen und Aktionäre sowie Investorinnen und Investoren in den Bereichen Corporate Governance, Public Corporate Governance, Gesellschaftsrecht und Vertragsrecht. Er übernimmt zudem Verwaltungsratsmandate in schweizerischen Aktiengesellschaften.

Roman Gutzwiller studierte an der Universität St.Gallen (B.A. HSG in Law, 2007; M.A. HSG in Law, 2009) und der HEC Paris (MBA mit Spezialisierung in Advanced Management, 2020) und promovierte an der Universität St.Gallen zum Thema «Die Einflussmöglichkeiten des Staates auf die Strategie einer Aktiengesellschaft mit staatlicher Beteiligung» (Dr. iur. HSG, summa cum laude, 2017), wo ihm der Walther Hug Preis St.Gallen 2017 für die beste juristische Dissertation verliehen wurde.

Als ehemaliger Unternehmer verfügt Roman Gutzwiller über mehrjährige unternehmerische Erfahrungen sowie betriebswirtschaftliches Wissen insbesondere in den Bereichen des strategischen Managements und der Geschäftsmodellentwicklung, der Unternehmensführung, der Leadership und der digitalen Transformation.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei Binder Rechtsanwälte ist Roman Gutzwiller als Habilitand und Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität St.Gallen tätig. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf Themen in den Bereichen Shareholder Governance, Board Governance, Public Corporate Governance, Gesellschaftsrecht sowie strategisches Management. Im Rahmen seiner Lehrtätigkeit unterrichtet Roman Gutzwiller auf Assessment-, Bachelor- und Masterstufe sowie in der Executive Education. Er publiziert regelmässig in seinen Forschungsgebieten.

Seit 2019 ist Roman Gutzwiller Mitglied des Advisory Board des Corporate Governance Competence Centre am Research Institute for International Management der Universität St.Gallen. Im Jahr 2015 wurde Roman Gutzwiller in die WEF Global Shapers Community, einem durch das World Economic Forum initiierten Netzwerk von «young high potentials» mit aussergewöhnlichen Führungsqualitäten, aufgenommen; von 2016 bis 2018 amtete er als Mitglied des Vorstandes des Zurich Hub, von 2017 bis 2018 als dessen Präsident.

Privat ist Roman Gutzwiller grosser Fussballfan und ein engagierter Befürworter des papierlosen Büros.

Curriculum

seit 2022Rechtsanwalt bei Binder Rechtsanwälte (eingetragen im Anwaltsregister des Kantons Aargau)
seit 2020Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität St.Gallen
2020Master of Business Administration mit Spezialisierung in Advanced Management (HEC Paris); Aufnahme in die Dean’s List; Erhalt der HEC Paris Excellence Scholarship (2018), des HEC Paris MBA Academic Award (Class of 2020) und des HEC Paris MBA Leadership Award (Class of 2020)
seit 2017Selbstständige wissenschaftliche Forschung und Arbeit an einem Habilitationsprojekt an der Universität St.Gallen
seit 2017Gründer und Inhaber der Crescenion GmbH
2017Dr. iur. HSG (Universität St.Gallen); Erhalt des Walther Hug-Preises St.Gallen 2017 für die beste juristische Dissertation
2012–2014Rechtsanwalt bei Binder Rechtsanwälte (eingetragen im Anwaltsregister des Kantons Aargau)
2011Erwerb des Zürcher Anwaltspatentes und Zulassung zur Rechtsvertretung vor allen schweizerischen Gerichten
2009–2010Substitut bei einer grossen Wirtschaftskanzlei in Zürich
2009M.A. HSG in Law (Universität St.Gallen); Erhalt des Paul Alther-Preises 2009 für die beste rechtswissenschaftliche oder staatswissenschaftliche Masterarbeit
2007B.A. HSG in Law (Universität St.Gallen)
2005–2011Gründer und Managing Partner der ingenion GmbH

Weitere Tätigkeiten

Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität St.Gallen (seit 2020); Unterricht im Bereich Gesellschaftsrecht und Corporate Governance auf Assessmentstufe, Bachelorstufe, Masterstufe und in der Executive Education
Dozent für Gesellschaftsrecht und Corporate Governance an der Executive School of Management, Technology and Law der Universität St.Gallen (seit 2021)
Mitglied des Advisory Board des Corporate Governance Competence Centre am Research Institute for International Management der Universität St.Gallen (seit 2019)
Nicht-exekutives Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der GWPartner AG (seit 2006)
Mitglied (seit 2015), ehemaliger Präsident (2017–2018) und ehemaliges Vorstandsmitglied (2016–2018) der Global Shapers Community (Zurich Hub), eine Community des World Economic Forums
Mitgründer und Mitglied des Vorstandes des Vereins zur Unterstützung von KMU und Startups (seit 2020)

Talk im Trafo

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.